UE tied the series, Winner-Take- All on Thursday’s UAAP Finals

They want it bad and so they worked hard!

Warriors’ first Finals victory since 1985, the year the team won its last championship under Allan Caidic.

Underdog in this 72nd UAAP finals when early favorite, defending champion, the high-spirited Ateneo Blue Eagles are set for a sweep to aim its bid for a back-to-back title after having claimed the first game of the best of three series.

Yesterday at the historic Araneta Coliseum, the Warriors not only came back but also displayed a flawless game to win big and tied the series, forcing a winner-take-all game on Thursday 08 October 2009 before the stunned Ateneo fans.

The dynamic duo of Espiritu and Llagas instrumented the aggressive offense of UE that crippled Ateneo’s solid defense. Yesterday’s game could be the last time the duo would be wearing the team’s Jersey if not for the win as the two will be retiring this year.

UE started claiming the first basket of the ballgame courtesy of Acuna at 9:63 of the time clock. Maintained the lead but at 4:31 remaining in the first quarter, Baclao made a basket and tied the game with 11-all, the first deadlock of the game. UE never intimidated, bounced back and taking the first quarter with a three-point advantage 18-15.

Second quarter was a tight ballgame. Combinations of three points shots from Monfort, Al-Hussaini and the buzzer beater three point shot of Jai Reyes gave Ateneo a two-point advantage at the end of the first half with 38-40.

In third quarter, UE was unstoppable dominated the game as the combination of Espiritu, Llagas and Lee working earnestly to gave Ateneo a ten points deficit at the end of the quarter. UE further strengthen the lead at the final quarter when Espiritu and Llagas firing hot at the three-point territory to finally tied the series with a final score of 88-68, the biggest lead in a final.

Stumble It        Delicious del.icio.us        Digg This          Technorati